NET ADS Glossary
The Internet is full of strange terms and arconyms. Here they will be demistified.
AD COPY
AD POSITION
CAMPAIGN
CLICKS
CPC
CPM
CTR
GOOGLE SEARCH PARTNERS
IMPRESSIONS
INTERNET
KEYWORDS
KEYWORD PHRASES
ORGANIC RESULTS
PPC
PPM
SEARCH ENGINES
SEM
SEO
WEBSITE SUBMISSION
Ad Copy
Ad Copy refers to the text displayed in an advertisment.
Ad Position
Ad Position is a numerical value of where an ad will be displayed on a website. For example, an Ad Position of 1 would refer to the very first position on a Search Engines results page while an Ad Position of 11 would refer to the first position of the second Search Enines results page if that Seach Engine displays 10 ads per page.
Campaign
A Campaign is a collection of advertisments that focus on the same product or service.
Clicks
A Click is recorded everytime someone clicks on an ad.
CPC (Cost-Per-Click)
Cost-Per-Click is the amount that each click will cost.
CPM (Cost-Per-Thousand-Impressions)
Cost-Per-Thousand-Impressions is the amount that each 1000 views of an ad will cost.
CTR (Click-Through Ratio)
Click-Through Ratio is a percentage of Clicks against Impressions. For example, if a Pay-Per-Click ad was viewed 100 times and out of those 100 views it was clicked on 50 times you would devide the amount of clicks by the amount of impressions then multiply it by 100 (50 / 100 * 100 = 50%) which would give you a Click-Through Ratio of 50%.
Google Search Partners
Google Search Partners is a network of websites that display Google managed ads on their search results page.
Impressions
An Impression is recorded everytime an ad is displayed to a user.
Internet
The Internet is a global network of computers that use the Internet Protocol (TCP/IP).
Keywords
A Keyword is a word that is used to trigger an ad. For example, someone advertising Boats For Sale may use the Keyword 'Boats'.
Keyword Phrases
A Keyword Phrase is a string of words that are used to trigger an ad. For example, someone advertising Boats For Sale may use the Keyword Phrase "Cheap Boats For Sale".
Organic Results
Organic Results are Search Engine Results that are triggered naturally by that Search Engine and are not paid for.
PPC (Pay-Per-Click)
Pay-Per-Click describes the method of internet advertising that is charged against recorded clicks.
PPM (Pay-Per-Thousand-Impressions)
Pay-Per-Thousand-Impressions describes the method of internet advertising that is charged against recorded 1000 impressions.
Search Engines
Search Engines are websites that users can search specific words or phrases to see a list of relevant websites.
SEM (Search Engine Marketing)
Search Engine Marketing is a form of internet marketing
that uses a combination of Paid Placement, Search Engine Optimisation, Paid Inclusion and Contextual Advertising in an effort to promote a website.
SEO (Search Engine Optimisation)
Search Engine Optimisation is a the practice of increasing a websites
visibilty to Search Engines and optimising relevant keywords in an effort to appear higher in a Search Engines results page.
Website Submission
Website Submission or Search Engine Submission is the process of submitting a website to a Search Engine or Internet Directory for inclusion.